Performance Programme

Performance Programme

The WTSF is committed to the development of target shooting athletes from grassroots, up to, and including performance at Commonwealth Games and Olympic level.

The Welsh Target Shooting Federation Performance Programme (WTSF PP) offers athletes a pathway in shooting sports ranging from a thorough grounding in knowledge, understanding, practice and skills of their chosen discipline, right through to international competition at High Performance level.

The WTSF PP is intended to facilitate athletes to become better at what they do physically, mentally, technically and tactically, ensuring that safety, well-being and safeguarding, is at the heart of everything we do.

The WTSF PP is overseen on a day-to-day basis by the WTSF Performance Director.

There are three different levels of the Programme:

These are detailed in the policy documents below.

Entry to the programme will be through a selection process annually.


We have a dedicated anti-doping page with comprehensive information for target shooting athletes. 

Performance Programme Athletes from 1st July 2023

Michael Wixey Olympic Trap
Sarah Wixey Olympic Trap
James Miller Pistol 10m
Michael Bamsey Rifle 10m & 50m
Alun Evans Rifle 10m & 50m
Henryk Golaszewski Rifle Fullbore
Theo Dodds Rifle Fullbore
Bob Oxford Rifle Fullbore
Chris Watson Rifle Fullbore
Chloë Evans Rifle Fullbore
Alex John
Elliot Bromfield
Emily Shawyer
Lucy Banner
Lucy Thomas
Sasha Mikhailov
Siân Hayden-Seymour
Craig Welsh
Liam Webster
Megan Bamsey
Seren Thorne
Alastair Haley
John Evans
Michael Bumford
Miles Horton-Baker
Oscar Farrell
Tobias Little
Anthony Cox
Georgina Shephard
Elizabeth Walton-James
George Seaborne
Katie Cowell
Lewis Owen
Marc Potts
Owain Humphreys
Rhys Tucker
Abigail Smart
Annie Williams
Anwen Dehareng
Daniel Johnson
Juliette Markham
Kate Thomas
Leonard Price
Seren Adams-Lewis
Aidan Healy
Chloe John-Driscoll
David George
Jasmine Lewis
Laurence Blake
Layla Pallas
Lewis Craddock
Michael Whalley
Niall Evans
Oliver McCabe
Richard Bray
Steph Reynolds
Alison Carnell
Asia Hoile
Lily Stewart
Nia Barnes
Radford Ramage
Alex Hughes
David Jones
Felix Hughes
Gareth Wrentmore
Hywel Jones
Caledfryn Pritchard
Chloe Davies
Emyr Davies
James Roberts
Jayson Rankine
Julian Owens
Laugharne Jones
Lloyd Jones
Michael Harrison
Rhys Himphrey
Robert English
Robert Lewis
Sarah Nichols-Weaver

Performance Policy Documents


Grantiau a Chefnogaeth

SportsAid Cymru Wales

SportsAid Cymru Wales focuses predominantly on the 12 – 18 year age group (extended for athletes with disabilities) who are not receiving financial support from other official sources.

Applications for support from SportsAid Cymru Wales have to be submitted via – and endorsed by – the governing body of the individual’s sport, according to set criteria developed in partnership with Sport Wales. 

The criteria agreed between the WTSF and Sport Wales is:

This ensures we have the latest information on the athlete’s achievements, together with their Wales or GB rankings and an assessment of potential from experienced coaches.

If you feel you may be eligible for a SportsAid Cymru Wales grant then you should talk to your coach and the WTSF Network Development Manager.

SportsAid Cymru Wales is not able to consider applications direct from athletes outside this process.

The deadline for applications to the WTSF is normally the end of November each year with successful athletes receiving an award in April.


Ein Partneriaid